It is a completely unfortunate incident when you get hurt while you are traveling on a bus. However, there are a number of such accidents taking place in California almost every year. There are certain things you need to remember if you want to take action to claim the compensation you deserve. It is advisable that you approach a bus accident attorney in the case of a bus accident
The Statute Of Limitations Involved In Bus Accident Injuries In California
One of the first things you need to remember after you are involved in a bus accident is that you only have a limited time to file a lawsuit against the offenders. Depending upon the circumstances of your case, you will have only up to 6 months to file a case. Even if you are eligible for a longer period, you will still have only about two years from the date of injury to file a claim and get the compensation you deserve. This is referred to as a statute of limitations. It is a kind of stopwatch, which starts running the moment you are involved in an accident. Depending on the entities involved the statute of limitations varies from 6 months to two years.
Public Vs Private Bus Claims
If you happened to be in an accident that involves a public bus, and the fault of the driver is the main cause of the accident, you have to file a lawsuit against the government agency. These buses are under government ownership. Therefore, when you make a claim against the bus company, you are effectively filing it against the government. When you file a claim against the government, the statute of limitations is six months. Besides, it works in a different way than the remaining cases. Firstly, it is advisable that you claim compensation with the agency responsible for the damages. In case you are denied the city bus accident Settlements, you can approach the bus accident attorney and get assistance to file a lawsuit at the earliest.
On the other hand, if you are injured while traveling in a bus owned privately, you have to file the claim against the concerned private agency. The statute of limitations, in this case, is 2 years. You have to file your lawsuit against the entity responsible within 2 years of the accident. Otherwise, you will become ineligible to acquire compensation. You can clarify these laws when you approach a bus accident attorney.